Skip to content
If you or someone you know has a gambling problem and wants help, call 1-800 GAMBLER Responsible Gaming Responsible Gaming
  1. MLB

MLB: 2022 awards round-up

Earlier this week the 2022 Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) revealed the finalists for Rookie of the Year, Cy Young Award, Manager of the Year and Most Valuable Player.

Here we look at the winners of the BBWAA Awards and what it could mean going forward.

Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

American League

Julio Rodriguez (Seattle Mariners)

Mariners’ outfielder Julio Rodriguez took 29 of the 30 first-place votes possible to win the AL Rookie of the Year award. Rodriguez became the eighth centre-fielder to win the AL award - the most recent was another Seattle winner, Kyle Lewis in 2020.

This marks the fifth time a Seattle player has been honoured and Rodriguez is the fourth Dominican-born player to win the AL award. The 21-year-old also won an AL Silver Slugger award and made the All-Star team also.

National League

Michael Harris II (Atlanta Braves)

Braves outfielder Michael Harris III outpolled his team-mate, pitcher Spencer Strider to win the Rookie of the Year award, becoming the ninth Braves player to receive the honour following Ronald Acuna Jr in 2018.

Harris was also the ninth NL centre fielder to win the award following Bryce Harper in 2012, when he was with the Washington Nationals.

Manager of the Year

American League

Terry Francona (Cleveland Guardians)

The Guardians’ Terry Francona has won the award for the third time in his career, becoming the ninth manager to win the award three times or more. He also won the award with Cleveland in 2013 and 2016.

Francona joins elite company winning the award at least three times with other managers namely, Dusty Baker, Buck Showalter, Jim Leyland, Joe Maddon, Lou Piniella and Bob Melvin.

This was the fourth time a Cleveland manager won the award, with Eric Wedge winning in 2007 and the Guardians are +3500 to win the World Series next season.

National League

Buck Showalter (New York Mets)

This is the fourth time that Buck Showalter has won the award, three times in the American League and the first time in the NL. Showalter joins Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa in winning the award four times.

It’s the first time a Mets manager has won the award since voting began in 1983. Davy Johnson was runner-up twice, in 1984 and 1986. Willie Randolph was also runner-up in 2006.

Related MLB News

MLB: Highlights of 2022 season

Cy Young Award

American League

Justin Verlander (Houston Astros) 

Justin Verlander wins the award for the third time in his career, becoming the 11th player to achieve this feat. Roger Clemens holds the record with seven awards in his time.

The 39-year-old was a unanimous choice for the judges and became the 11th player to scoop all of the judges' votes.

Verlander won the award in 2011 with the Detroit Tigers and then again with the Astros in 2019. Verlander's win is the fifth for a Houston pitcher in Cy Young balloting and the third since the Astros moved to the AL in 2013.

Verlander's future Astros career is up for debate as he has turned down their qualifying offer.

National League

Sandy Alcantara (Miami Marlins)

Marlins right-handed pitcher Sandy Alcantara swept the board for his first Cy Young Award and the first Cy Young award winner for the Miami Marlins since they joined as an expansion team in 1993.

Alcantara is the second Dominican-born player to win the NL award following on from Pedro Martinez in 1997.

Most Valuable Player

American League

Aaron Judge (New York Yankees)

This was the first career MVP award for Aaron Judge, who finished second to Jose Altuve of the Houston Astros in 2017, a year in which Judge claimed the Rookie of the Year award.

Judge is the first Yankee to win the award since Alex Rodriguez in 2007 and the first outfielder in pinstripes to win since Mickey Mantle in 1962.

Judge beat Roger Maris’ single-season home run record in the American League with 62. He has joined free agency at the moment, despite an offer from the Yankees at the start of the 2022 season, no offers are on the table at the moment.

Other clubs interested in making Judge their star outfielder are the New York Mets, Los Angeles Dodgers and Texas Rangers.

The Yankees are +1000 to win their first World Series since 2009 in 2023.

National League

Paul Goldschmidt (St. Louis Cardinals)

Finally, Paul Goldschmidt has won the MVP award after being runner-up twice and a top-six finisher five times.

Goldschmidt became the first Cardinal to win the award since legendary first baseman Albert Pujols won in 2008 and 2009.

The Cardinals now have 18 winners of the Most Valuable Player award, second only to the New York Yankees, who now have 21 following Judge’s win in the American League.

The Cardinals are +2200 to win the 2023 World Series.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy