Skip to content
If you or someone you know has a gambling problem and wants help, call 1-800 GAMBLER Responsible Gaming Responsible Gaming

Kentucky Derby - Horse Racing: All You Need to Know

The Kentucky Derby is the first leg of America's Triple Crown and it takes places each year at Churchill Downs racecourse on the first Saturday in May.

Dubbed the 'Run for the Roses' - stemming from the blanket of roses draped over the winner - the Kentucky Derby was first run in 1875.

It is dubbed the most exciting two minutes in sports by American audiences and is open to three-year-old horses (male and female), although it is largely contested by colts, with fillies instead heading to the Kentucky Oaks.

When is the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is run in Louisville, Kentucky on the first Saturday in May - this year's 147th renewal taking place on 7th May with a scheduled post-time of 23:57 UK.

Where is the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is run at the world-famous Churchill Downs racecourse on Central Avenue in South Louisville, Kentucky - the place it has called home since first being run in 1875.

The Derby is run over a mile-and-a-quarter trip on the left-handed Dirt surface at Churchill Downs and it carries a purse in the region $3,000,000.

Where can I watch the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby will be shown live on Sky Sports Racing in the UK, while punters can also catch the action from Churchill Downs via our Sports Live Streaming service.

Who is the most successful Kentucky Derby trainer?

That honour is held jointly by Ben Jones (1938, 1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952) and Bob Baffert (1997, 1998, 2002, 2015, 2018, 2020).

Jones' wins came with Lawrin, Whirlaway, Pensive, Citation, Ponder and Hill Gail - with Whirlaway and Citation going on to win the Triple Crown.

Baffert's maiden win came via Silver Charm in 1997 and he's scored since with Real Quiet, War Emblem, American Pharoah, Justify and Authentic - with American Pharoah and Justify giving him two Triple Crown winners in four years.

Related Horse Racing News

Horse Racing - Racing: Kentucky Derby field thinning out

Who is the most successful Kentucky Derby jockey?

The record is shared by Eddie Arcaro (1938, 1941, 1945, 1948, 1952) and Bill Hartack (1957, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1969) with five wins apiece.

Calvin Borel managed three wins in four years from 2007 - a record - while John Velazquez (2011, 2017, 2020) has a treble under his belt and could add to that this weekend.

Which horse ran the fastest ever Kentucky Derby?

The race was once run over a mile-and-a-half and, in that era, Spokane's times of 2:34:05 in 1889 was the fastest.

Since The Derby was moved to ten-furlongs, it is 1973 winner Secretariat that holds the record, stopping the clock in an impressive 1:59:40 - as yet the only winner to break the two-minute barrier.

Secretariat is regarded as an all-time American racing great, going on to complete the Triple Crown in that outstanding three-year-old season.

What is the greatest Kentucky Derby upset?

The 1913 Kentucky Derby was won by Donerail at odds 91/1 for trainer Thomas P Hayes, based at nearly Lexington, Kentucky with Roscoe Goose in the saddle.

An Honourable mention in this category goes to Mine That Bird, the 50/1 winner in 2009 under Calvin Borel for trainer Bennie Woolley Jr.

Borel and Mine That Bird came from second-last on the home bend with a daring run up the rail, making their final challenge through an unlikely gap that resulted in the racecourse commentator missing the move completely as they led by three-lengths before he caught sight of the paint-hugging winner.

Which horses have won the Kentucky Derby most recently?

Here are the winners of the Run for the Roses since 2010.

2010Super SaverCalvin BorelTodd Pletcher
2011Animal KingdomJohn VelazquezH. Graham Motion
2012I'll Have AnotherMario GutierrezDoug O'Neill
2013OrbJoel RosarioClaude McGaughey III
2014California ChromeVictor EspinozaArt Sherman
2015American Pharoah

Victor Espinoza

Bob Baffert

Mario Gutierrez

Doug O'Neill
2017Always Dreaming

John Velazquez

Doug O'Neill
2018JustifyMike Smith

Bob Baffert

2019Country HouseFlavien PratBill Mott

John Velazquez

Bob Baffert
2021MandalounFlorent GerouxBrad Cox

Who are the fancied horses in the 2022 Kentucky Derby?

Steve Asmussen's colt Epicenter is trading at 7/2 for Kentucky Derby glory after wins in the Grade 2 Risen Star and the Louisiana Derby lately. An all-the-way winner in the first of those, he came from the off the pace next time and looks versatile in terms of tactics.

Chad Brown's Zandon is in the mix at 4/1 despite finishing behind Epicenter in the Run Happy Stakes last time and, before that, was inched out by 10/1 hope Mo Donegal in the Remsen Stakes. The latter is trained by Todd Pletcher and will have Irad Ortiz Jr in the saddle as the son of Uncle Mo bids to prove his stamina.

Cyberknife, winner of the Grade 1 Arkansas Derby, is at 20/1 in the betting and is one of the options for last year's winning trainer Brad Cox.

Trainer Tim Yakteen has benefitted from a suspension imposed on Bob Baffert as both 7/1 Taiba and 10/1 Messier are now in his care. They were first and second in the Santa Anita Derby with Messier earning one of just three triple-digit Beyer speed figures held by the Kentucky Derby field.

Meanwhile, 25/1 chance Tiz The Bomb will be aiming to provide trainer Kenny McPeek with a first-ever winner in this famous race.

Discover more from the world's favourite online betting brand

More racing betting news

Latest sports betting and odds

Watch horse racing live streaming

Latest going report

Head to the bet365 YouTube channel for exclusive racing content

Latest racing results

Join now- bet365 Open Account Offer

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy