Skip to content
If you or someone you know has a gambling problem and wants help, call 1-800 GAMBLER Responsible Gaming Responsible Gaming
A look back at the thrills and spills of the World Series
  1. MLB

MLB: Manager of the Year contenders

Earlier this week the 2022 Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) revealed finalists for Rookie of the Year, Cy Young Award, Manager of the Year and Most Valuable Player.

Here we take a look at the contenders for the Major League Baseball Manager of the Year in both the American League and the National League. 

American League

Terry Francona (Cleveland Guardians)

If it wasn't for Terry Francona then the Cleveland Guardians would not have been in the position they found themselves in at the end of the season. 'Tito' has been named a finalist for the AL Manager of the Year, going up against Baltimore's Brandon Hyde and Seattle's Scott Servais.

Lots of pundits had Cleveland way out of the picture at the start of the 2022 campaign, largely because the Guardians had some many young players that they couldn't possibly compete against the more rugged and experienced Chicago White Sox and Minnesota Twins in the AL Central.

However, Cleveland surprised everyone by winning their Division at a canter and impressing in the postseason.

They defeated the Tampa Bay Rays surprisingly in the AL Wild Card series before succumbing to the New York Yankees in the AL Division Series.

Francona has won this title twice before in 2013 and 2016 (taking Cleveland to the World Series that year, losing out to the Chicago Cubs).

The Guardians are +1600 to win the AL in 2023 and you wouldn't write them off under Francona.

Brandon Hyde (Baltimore Orioles)

Francona might be favoured for the award, however Sporting News have crowned Hyde as their winner of the Manager of the Year.

The Baltimore Orioles are still in a rebuild process and were not expected to compete in the few seasons, let alone 2022, however, Hyde guided them to a winning campaign (83 games) for the first time since 2016.

Baltimore could be a side to look out for next season in the AL East. They called up prospects Adley Rutschman and Gunnar Henderson towards the end of the season and they contributed immediately.

Scott Servais (Seattle Mariners)

Guiding his franchise to their first postseason since 2001, Servais has to be considered for the Manager of the Year award.

The Seattle Mariners won 90 games for the second season in a row, with Servais joining Lou Pinella as the only two managers to complete this for the franchise. He also saw his side win 14 games on the spin from July 2-17.

The Mariners easily defeated the Toronto Blue Jays in the AL Wild card before succumbing to Divisional foes and eventual World Series winners, the Houston Astros, and Seattle are +900 to win the AL title next season.

Related MLB News

MLB: Rookie of the Year contenders

MLB: Highlights of 2022 season

National League

Dave Roberts (Los Angeles Dodgers)

Despite falling short of the overall prize. the Dodgers won their ninth NL West Division title in 10 years and they won 111 games overall, setting a franchise record for most wins.

The goal might not have been achieved after they lost out to their Divisional rivals the San Diego Padres in the NL Division series, but Dave Roberts is a consistent performer and has shockingly only won the Manager of the Year award once, in 2016.

Buck Showalter (New York Mets)

Buck Showalter is a wily campaigner. The New York Mets were looking for an experienced manager and Showalter was available having left the Baltimore Orioles in 2018, the 66-year-old had been used as an expert pundit on the MLB Network since.

Showalter guided the Mets to their first postseason since 2016 with 101 wins, however they were pipped at the post by the Atlanta Braves for the NL East Division title, despite leading for much of the campaign.

The veteran manager has won the Manager of the Year award on three previous occasions, all in the American League and his side are +450 to win the NL title in 2023.

Brian Snitker (Atlanta Braves)

Brian Snitker has won the Manager of the Year award once before in 2018, that was the first year of the Braves winning the NL East Division.

They have won it every year since. They pushed the Mets close this year, eventually overtaking them to the Division title in the final week, their fifth consecutive championship.

While the Braves fell short in the playoffs to the Philadelphia Phillies in the NL Division Series, they have managed to sign up their young talent to extended contracts which should see Atlanta contend for seasons to come.

And with Snitker at their side, who is to say they can't dominate the NL East further and even win a second World Series under his stewardship. You wouldn't rule Snitker out for this award and more to come.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy