Skip to content
If you or someone you know has a gambling problem and wants help, call 1-800 GAMBLER Responsible Gaming Responsible Gaming
There have been may classic postseason series
  1. MLB

MLB World Series: When is it, who is playing and how to watch

The World Series is baseball's most prestigious series, which pits the best in the American League against the champions of the National League, which together constitute Major League Baseball.

MLB is nearly complete for 2022, and it will culminate with a World Series match-up between the Houston Astros and Philadelphia Phillies which begins on Friday.

When is the World Series?

This year’s World Series takes place between October 28 and November 5, depending on whether the seven-game series goes that far. Whoever wins four games, wins the World Series.

Who is playing in this year's World Series?

The Houston Astros of the American League will face the Philadelphia Phillies of the National League. For Houston, it will be their fourth World Series appearance in six seasons, while Philadelphia will appear in their first Fall Classic since 2009.

The Astros were winners of the AL West Division and they are playing in their second straight World Series and their fourth in the past six seasons.

The Phillies have snapped a 12-year drought and are back in the Fall Classic again for the first time since they made back-to-back appearances in 2008 and 2009.

Where is the World Series being played?

As the Astros were seeded higher than the Phillies (from a better regular season record), then the first two games of the series will be played at Minute Maid Park in Houston, Texas.

Games three, four and potentially five (if required) will be at Citizens Bank Park, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Games six and seven (if required) will be back in Houston.

Houston is used to hosting the World Series in recent years, while Philadelphia have had to wait a while since 2009, when the Phillies faced the New York Yankees.

A seven-game format has been used continually since 1922.

Who are the reigning World Series champions?

The Atlanta Braves won the World Series last season, for the fourth time in their history, defeating the Astros 4-2 over six games.

The Braves reached the National League Division series this season, before being knocked out by the Phillies.

Houston has reached back-to-back World Series, the first team to do so since the Los Angeles Dodgers in 2017 and 2018.

Can I watch the World Series?

The World Series will be shown in the UK via BT Sport starting on Saturday October 29 at 12.30am BST. In the US, it will be shown on FOX with the start time at 8.03pm EDT on Friday October 28.

Related MLB News

What next for the Atlanta Braves and the Los Angeles Dodgers?

What next for the Seattle Mariners & Cleveland Guardians?

How many times has the World Series taken place?

The World Series first took place in 1903 after a cessation of hostilities between the game’s two leading leagues, the newly-formed American and the National.

Boston, representing the AL, defeated Pittsburgh, winning five games to three in a best-of-nine series.

There was a hiatus in 1904 as the National League-winning New York Giants refused to play Boston, who had won the American League again.

The series resumed in 1905 and continued until 1994 when a prolonged players' strike forced its cancellation that year.

All in all there have been 117 World Series championships.

Who has won the World Series the most times?

The New York Yankees of the American League are the most successful franchise to have won the World Series.

The Yankees have won the World Series a record 27 times, although their last win came in 2009, defeating the Phillies (on their last appearance in the World Series).

The Yankees have appeared in the World Series on 40 occasions (also, 2009 was their last appearance).

How many times have the Astros and the Phillies won the World Series?

The Astros have won it just once, in 2017, having been around since 1962. They have made five appearances in the Fall Classic, four times as the AL representative and once as the National League pennant winner in 2005.

The Phillies have hoisted the Commissioner's Trophy twice, in 1980 and 2008, and they are making their eighth appearance in the World Series.

Philadelphia's existence pre-dates the first modern World Series in 1903 and they were known as the Quakers for their first seven seasons.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy