Skip to content
If you or someone you know has a gambling problem and wants help, call 1-800 GAMBLER Responsible Gaming Responsible Gaming

Preakness Stakes - Horse Racing: All You Need to Know

The Preakness Stakes is the second leg of America's Triple Crown and it takes place each year at Pimlico racecourse in mid-May.

The Preakness has been around for close to 150 years and has been dubbed "The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans" owing to the fact that a blanket of Maryland's state flower is put on the race winner.

The race is run a fortnight after the Kentucky Derby and the Triple Crown concludes in June with the Belmont Stakes – three weeks after the Preakness.

When is the Preakness Stakes?

The Preakness Stakes takes place at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland on the third Saturday in May – this year's 149th renewal is due to go to post on 21st May with a scheduled start-time of 00:01 UK (Sunday 22nd May).

Where is the Preakness Stakes?

Pimlico Racecourse in Baltimore, Marland has been around since the 1660s when colonial settlers named it in honour of Olde Ben Pimlico's Tavern in London, though the racecourse itself is officially dated back to only 1870 – three years before the first running of the Preakness Stakes.

The Preakness is run over a trip of one-mile-one-and-a-half-furlongs on a left-handed Dirt track and is open to three-year-old horses. The purse on offer is estimated to be $1.5m in 2022.

Where can I watch the Preakness Stakes?

The Preakness Stakes will be shown live on Sky Sports Racing in the UK, while punters can also catch the action from Pimlico via our Sports Live Streaming service.

Who is the most successful Preakness Stakes trainer?

Seven is the magic number for Preakness winners. That's the tally that R. Wyndham Walden (1875, 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881, 1882, 1888) set in the 19th century and it has been equalled in the modern era by Bob Baffert (1997, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2010, 2015, 2018).

Two of those Baffert-trained winners – American Pharoah in 2015 and Justify in 2018 – had won the Kentucky Derby previously and subsequently won the Belmont Stakes to complete the US Triple Crown. They are the only winners of all three races since 1978.

Related Horse Racing News

Horse Racing - Racing: Plenty to ponder ahead of Epsom

York - Horse Racing: Stradivarius sets up Ascot return

Kentucky Derby - Horse Racing: All You Need to Know

Epsom Derby - Horse Racing: All You Need To Know

Who is the most successful Kentucky Derby jockey?

Cincinnati-born Eddie Arcaro (1941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955, 1957) holds the record for Preakness wins, with his six coming across a sixteen-year span.

Whirlaway (his first winner) and 1948 scorer Citation both completed the Triple Crown for the rider, who has more wins in American Classic races than anyone else. To this day, Arcaro remains the only jockey to have won the US Triple Crown on more than one occasion (in a single season).

Which horse ran the fastest ever Preakness Stakes?

The great 1973 Triple Crown winner Secretariat holds the record for the fastest Preakness win, clocking a time of 1min 53sec.

There was some debate over the official timing of the race on the day, but the Maryland Racing Commission does now show Secretariat's time as the fastest on record (at the current Preakness distance, which has been in use since 1925).

What is the greatest Preakness Stakes upset?

Typically, the Preakness isn't a race where rank outsiders do well, with Master Derby in 1975 the biggest SP winner of the race at 23/1.

Kentucky Derby winner Foolish Pleasure was the 6/5 favourite to prevail in the second jewel of the Triple Crown, but Master Derby – only fourth at Churchill Downs a fortnight earlier – had his revenge for trainer Smiley Adams and rider Darrel McHargue, getting first run on the favourite and holding on for a one-length win at the wire.

Can fillies run in the Preakness Stakes?

They can and they do. The fairer sex get a 5lb allowance to compete against males in the Classic at Pimlico and they have come out on top five times over the years. Flocarline (1903), Whimsical (1906), Rhine Maiden (1915), Nellie Morse (1924), Rachel Alexandra (2009) and Swiss Skydiver (2020) have all won the Preakness.

Trained by Kenny McPeek, Swiss Skydiver lasted out best in the home straight in what became a duel with Kentucky Derby winner Authentic to win a real thriller.

Which horses have won the Preakness Stakes most recently?

Here are the winners of The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans since 2010.

2010Looking At LuckyMartin GarciaBob Baffert
2011ShacklefordJesus CastanonDale Romans
2012I'll Have AnotherMario GutierrezDoug O'Neill
2013OxboxGary StevensD Wayne Lukas
2014California ChromeVictor EspinozaArt Sherman
2015American PharoahVictor EspinozaBob Baffert
2016ExaggeratorKent DesormeauxKeith Desormeaux
2017Cloud ComputingJavier CastelannoChad Brown
2018JustifyMike SmithBob Baffert
2019War Of WillTyler GaffalioneMark E. Casse
2020Swiss SkydiverRobby AlbaradoKenny McPeek
2021RombauerFlavien Prat

Mike McCarthy

Who are the fancied horses in the 2022 Preakness Stakes?

After being thwarted by the surging last-to-first winner Rich Strike in the Kentucky Derby a fortnight ago, Epicenter is 4/5 to go a spot better in the Preakness for Steve Asmussen and Joel Rosario, with the shock Churchill Downs winner opting out of the trip to Pimlico.

Epicenter was a clear second-best last time and looks to hold excellent claims now, though he is set to face eight rivals in the Preakness.

Withers Stakes winner Early Voting is trading at 5/1 and Kentucky Oaks victor Secret Oath can be backed at 11/2 in her bid to become the seventh filly in history to win the Preakness Stakes.

Fourth in the Kentucky Derby, 9/1 chance Simplification has ground to make up on Epicenter now.

Trained by Kenny McPeek, who won the Preakness two years ago, Creative Minister is 12/1 as he rises in class having won an allowance race at Churchill Downs during the Kentucky Derby meeting.

Armagnac is the mount of the excellent Irad Ortiz Jr. and sits in the betting at 16/1, while the field is set to be completed by outsiders Skippylongstocking, Happy Jack and Fenwick – all with plenty to find on the formbook it would seem.

Discover more from the world's favourite online betting brand

More racing betting news

Latest sports betting and odds

Watch horse racing live streaming

Latest going report

Head to the bet365 YouTube channel for exclusive racing content

Latest racing results

Join now- bet365 Open Account Offer

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy