Skip to content
If you or someone you know has a gambling problem and wants help, call 1-800 GAMBLER Responsible Gaming Responsible Gaming

Aussie Rules: The Brownlow Medal contenders

The Brownlow Medal is the highest individual honour in the AFL and the 2022 ceremony is set to take place on Monday 19th September, but who are the main contenders?

Port Adelaide’s Ollie Wines took the award in 2021 and would have been a contender again this season had he not suffered issues with his health.

Nat Fyfe, Patrick Dangerfield and Dustin Martin are also other big names to have claimed the Brownlow in recent seasons and now all eyes are on the race to win the 2022 award.

We will have to wait a bit longer as the Brownlow Medal ceremony traditionally kicks-off AFL grand final week and we have the majority of the finals campaign to get through first.

Anticipation is building though so let’s take a closer look at the main contenders for the 2022 Brownlow Medal.

Touk Miller


The Gold Coast Suns captain had an outstanding breakout season in 2021 and has taken his game to another level again in 2022.

His fantastic season has already been recognised after he picked up the 2022 AFL Coaches Association Champions Player of the Year Award along with Melbourne’s Clayton Oliver.

Miller and Oliver both polled 98 votes and it is only the second time in the history of the award that two players have tied.

The Suns ace has also been named in the All-Australian team for the second year running and winning the Brownlow would be the icing on the cake.

Suns coach Stuart Dew said: “As a football club we are proud of our captain and what he has achieved this season. Touk deserves everything that comes his way.” 

Andrew Brayshaw


Brayshaw has been a revelation for Fremantle this season and this has already been recognised by his fellow AFL players.

On Wednesday night the young Dockers star won the AFL Players’ Association Most Valuable Player award for the 2022 season.

The 22-year-old is the youngest player in 18 years to have won the award. Nick Riewoldt was the last way back in 2004.

Brayshaw pipped Melbourne’s Clayton Oliver to the award, while Shai Bolton of the Richmond Tigers came third.

The midfield gun is also well in the mix to become the latest Docker to win the Brownlow, following on from Nat Fyfe, who has won it twice.

Clayton Oliver


Oliver helped Melbourne win the 2021 premiership and has had another brilliant season when helping the Demons to second on the ladder.

The midfielder has already won the 2022 AFL Coaches Association Champions Player of the Year Award after finishing tied with Gold Coast gun Touk Miller.

He also finished second behind Andrew Brayshaw in the votes for the AFL Players’ Association Most Valuable Player award for the 2022 season.

The two awards say it all and the Demons ace will now be hoping he can scoop the Brownlow ahead of Brayshaw, Miller and co.

Patrick Cripps


Cripps will be hoping to make up for the disappointment of Carlton missing out on finals on the last day of the AFL home and away season by winning the Brownlow.

The Blues ace got the season off to a flyer and was the early hot fancy to go on and take the award before his form dipped.

Cripps had a strong end to the season but it remains to be seen if it was good enough to see him become the first Carlton player since Chris Judd in 2010 to win the Brownlow.

Lachie Neale


The Brisbane Lions star won the Brownlow in 2020 and many believe that his form has been even better in the 2022 AFL season.

This after a frustrating 2021 campaign which saw him struggle through injury, therefore reducing the amount of time spent on the pitch.

Neale has returned better than ever this season and is many peoples hot fancy to claim his second Brownlow Medal in the space of three seasons.

The former Fremantle star also picked up his third All-Australian blazer after being named in the 22 at the AFL awards on Wednesday night.

Christian Petracca


Like his Melbourne team-mate Clayton Oliver, Petracca has had a superb season for the Demons and will be pivotal to their chances of going on to win back-to-back premierships.

One issue could be that Oliver and Petracca could take votes off each other on Brownlow night.

Petracca was one of four Melbourne players to be named an All-Australian for 2022 along with Oliver, Max Gawn and Steven May.

Now he is in with a chance of winning the Brownlow.

Discover more from the world's favourite online betting brand

More Aussie rules betting news

Latest betting and odds

Watch sports live streaming

Latest Aussie rules results

Sign up - bet365 Open Account Offer

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy